UN Global Compact Expert Network

This advisory group serves to drive ambition and ensure relevance of our programmatic portfolio as we support business in advancing sustainability and contributing to the UN goals

Expert Network Co-Chairs

The Ten Principles of the UN Global Compact, each drawn from landmark UN Declarations and Conventions provide the initiative with its unique, principles-based and normative framework for business action. The Expert Network is Co-Chaired by the UN Agencies and Programmes with responsibility for the relevant declarations and conventions in order to ensure the full alignment and integration of the Ten Principles into our programmatic activities.

Lene Wendland
Chief, Human Rights and Economic and Social Issues Section and former Adviser on Business and Human Rights, Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights

Githa Roelans
Head, Multinational Enterprises and Enterprise Engagement Unit, Enterprises Department, International Labour Organization

Merlyn Van Voore
Senior Adviser: Climate Change, United Nations Environment

Candice Welsch
Chief, Implementation Support Section, Corruption and Economic Crime Branch, United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime

Expert Network Members

Hosted by the UN Global Compact Office, the Expert Network is comprised of representatives from business, civil society, trade unions, the UN, Government and Global Compact Local Networks who have strong understanding of the broader sustainability agenda. Throughout the year, Members are invited to share perspectives on emerging trends and gaps in corporate sustainability and to provide strategic and substantive input to programmatic prioritization and agenda-setting discussions within the UN Global Compact.


Naty Barak
Chief Sustainability Officer, Netafim

Stephanie Richardson
Global Sustainability Strategy Manager, Accenture

Sandra Dante
Vice President, Social Accountability and Prospective, Total S.A.

Deputy Director-General of the Office of Board of Directors, China Development Bank

Betina Del Valle Azugna
Sustainability Manager, Grupo Sancor Seguros

Alice Durand-Reville
Corporate Public Affairs Director, Danone

Christian Frutiger
Vice President, Global Head of Public Affairs, Nestlé S.A.

Filippo Giuseppe Bettini
Chief Sustainability & Risk Governance Officer, Pirelli & C. S.p.A.

Chang Hyungeal
Manager, SK Telecom

Emmanuel Lulin
Senior Vice President & Chief Ethics Officer, L'Oréal S.A.

Sami Lundgren
Vice President, Environment & Responsibility, UPM-Kymmene Corporation

Dr. Màrcia Balisciano
Director, Corporate Responsibility, RELX Group

Marcela Manubens
Global Vice President for Integrated Social Sustainability, Unilever

Marina Migliorato
Head of Sustainability Innovation& Stakeholder Engagement, Enel Group

Scott N. Mitchell
President & CEO, Sumitomo Chemical America

Indalecio Perez
Social Sustainability Director, Inditex S.A.

Thorsten Pinkepank
Director Sustainability Relations, BASF

Ru Qiao
Deputy Director, Securities Affairs Office, Board Secretariat, China Petroleum and Chemical Corporation - Sinopec

Carlos Sallé Alonso
Director of Energy Policy & Climate Change, IBERDROLA S.A.

Luigi Sampaolo
Vice President of Projects and Sustainability Strategic Relations, Eni S.p.A

Karsten Schroeder
Manager, Corporate Responsibility, Daimler AG

Jorge Soto
Sustainable Development Director, Braskem

Claus Stig Pedersen
Head of Corporate Sustainability and EMEA Public Affairs, Novozymes A/S

Annette Stube
Head of Sustainability, A.P. Moller-Maersk Group

Stuart Templar
Director, Sustainability, Volvo Cars

Matthias Thorns
Director of Stakeholder Engagement, International Organization of Employers

Dominic Vergine
Head of Sustainability, ARM

Miki Watanabe
General Manager, CSR Department, Fuji Xerox Co., Ltd.

Civil Society, Labour, Other

Pietro Bertazzi
Global Director – Policy Engagement, CDP

Kris Douma
Director Investment Practice and Engagement, Principles for Responsible Investment

Jaco du Toit
Senior Advocacy Advisor, Our Planet, World Wide Fund United Kingdom

John Elkington
Chairman & Chief Pollinator, Volans Ltd.

Laura Gitman
Senior Vice President, Business for Social Responsibility

Richard Howitt
Chief Executive Officer, The International Integrated Reporting Council

Margaret Jungk
Managing Director, Human Rights, Business for Social Responsibility

Cate Lamb
Director, Water Security, Carbon Disclosure Project

Mark Lancelott
Director, Business Design, PA Consulting Group

Shawn MacDonald
CEO, Verite

Eliot Metzger
Senior Associate, World Resources Institute

Alexis Morgan
Water Stewardship Lead, World Wide Fund International

Jason Morrison
President, Pacific Institute

Peter Paul van de Wijs
Chief External Affairs Officer, GRI

Anita Ramasastry
Professor of Law, Director of Sustainable International Development Graduate Program, UN Working Group on Business and Human Rights

Caroline Rees
President, Shift

Paul Reig
Manager, Corporate Water Stewardship, World Resources Institute

Pierre Sané
Chief Executive Officer, Groupe Atepa

David Schilling
Senior Program Director, Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility

Aditi Sen
Senior Climate Advisor, Oxfam America

Ulysses Smith
President & Chief Executive Officer, Telos Governance Advisers

Irit Tamir
Director, Private Sector Department, Oxfam America

Diane-Laure Arjaliès
Assistant Professor , Ivey Business School - Western University

Cathrine Bloch Poulsen-Hansen
Programme Manager and Senior Adviser to the Corporate Engagement Programme, Danish Institute for Human Rights

Delphine Gibassier
Associate Professor of Accounting for Sustainable Development, Audencia Business School

Geoff Kendall
Co-Founder & CEO, Future-Fit Foundation

UN System

Marcos Athias Neto
Director of Private Sector, United Nations Development Programme

Michelle Gyles-McDonnough
Director, Sustainable Development Unit, Executive Office of the Secretary-General at the United Nations

Catherine Howell
Innovative Finance Specialist, United Nations Peacebuilding Support Office

Henriette Kolb
Head of Gender Secretariat, International Finance Corporation

Albena Melin
Head, Multilateral Engagements, International Finance Corporation

Anthony Miller
Economic Affairs Officer, United Nations Conference on Trade and Development

Shirin Pakfar Friborg
Head, Partnership Development, Private Partnerships and Philanthropy, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

Massimiliano Riva
Specialist, Sustainable & Innovative Science, United Nations Development Programme

Karen M. Smith
Business Partnership Advisor, United Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs

Daniele Violetti
Director, Finance Technology and Capacity Building, United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change Secretariat

Local Networks and Governments

Benafsha Charlick-Delgado
Senior Programme Manager, Global Compact Network UK

Marcel Engel
Executive Director, Global Compact Network Germany

Y.W. Junardy
President, Global Compact Network Indonesia

Uddesh Kohli
Member, Governing Council, Global Compact Network India

Davor Majetić
Head Ambassador, Global Compact Network Croatia

Dr. Achieng Ojwang
Executive Director, Global Compact Network South Africa

Marie Wibe
Senior Adviser, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Government of Denmark